The ALMA Board

The ALMA Board is the governing body of the ALMA Project and the primary forum for interactions among, and decisions of the Parties recognizing that ultimate approval authority remains with the Parties.

The Board consists of Members and Assessors who are appointed by the Parties and Chile pursuant to the ALMA Agreement. NSF and ESO shall each appoint four members, NINS shall appoint three members and Chile shall appoint one member to the Board. Additionally, ESO, NINS and NSF shall each appoint one assessor to the Board.

The ALMA Board meets twice a year. If you want to know the results of these meetings, you can access this link where you will find a summary of each meeting.

The members of the ALMA Board are, by region, the following:


North America

  • Ethan Schreier

    Ethan Schreier

    Associated Universities, Inc.

  • James di Francesco

    National Research Council Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophysics

  • Neal J. Evans

    Neal J. Evans

    University of Texas at Austin

  • Phil Puxley

    Phil Puxley

    National Science Foundation

  • Tony J. Beasley

    Tony J. Beasley

    National Radio Astronomy Observatory


  • Daniel Weselka

    Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy of Austria

  • Linda Tacconi

    Linda Tacconi

    Max-Planck-Institut für Extraterrestrische Physik, Garching

  • Patrick Roche

    University of Oxford

  • Rafael Bachiller

    Rafael Bachiller

    Observatorio Astronómico Nacional de España

  • Xavier Barcons

    European Southern Observatory


  • Hideyuki Kobayashi

    Hideyuki Kobayashi

    National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

  • Masahiko Hayashi

    Masahiko Hayashi

    National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

  • Paul T. P. Ho

    Paul T. P. Ho

    Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics of Taiwan

  • Toshikazu Onishi

    Toshikazu Onishi

    Osaka Prefecture University


  • Luis Chavarria

    Luis Chavarría