ALMA Cycle 11 Call for Proposals Closes on April 25th

ALMA Cycle 11 Call for Proposals Closes on April 25th

5 April, 2024 / Read time: 2 minutes

On behalf of the Joint ALMA Observatory and the partner organizations led by NAOJ in East Asia, ESO in Europe, and NRAO in North America, the ALMA Director, Sean Dougherty, is pleased to announce the ALMA Cycle 11 Call for Proposals for scientific observations to be scheduled from October 2024 to September 2025. It is anticipated that 4,300 hours of the 12-m Array time and the Morita Array (a.k.a. Atacama Compact Array – ACA) time will be available for successful Principal Investigators' proposals in Cycle 11. The submission deadline is April 25, 2024, at 15:00 UT.

"Cycle 11 will be the last one with additions to the observing capabilities before the Wideband Sensitivity Update expected by 2030", says Sergio Martín, ALMA's Head of the Department of Science Operations. "ALMA has become a very effective and resilient instrument in the last decade, and we expect to continue producing high-quality science data while we update the observatory".

The Cycle 11 new capabilities are:

•    Full polarization in Band 1 on the 12-m Array. The polarization accuracy and capability will be the same as in Bands 3–7.

•    Band 1 on the 7-m Array for Stokes I only (no Stokes Q/U/V).

•    High-frequency and long-baseline observations with Band 9 in C-10 configuration, and 
Band 10 in configurations of C-9 and C-10.

•    4x4-bit spectral mode (dual polarization) will be available for the 
7-m Array and allow spectral setups that are fully compatible with those of the 12-m Array.

New in Cycle 11 will be Band-to-band phase calibration, which will be available for high-frequency observations on both the 7-m Array and all 12-m Array configurations with no time limitations.

For more information on the submission process, visit the ALMA Science Portal.

Additional Information

ALMA is a partnership of ESO (representing its member states), NSF (USA) and NINS (Japan), together with NRC (Canada), NSTC and ASIAA (Taiwan), and KASI (Republic of Korea), in cooperation with the Republic of Chile. The Joint ALMA Observatory is operated by ESO, AUI/NRAO and NAOJ.