ALMA Will Host a Science Conference to Celebrate 10 Years

ALMA Will Host a Science Conference to Celebrate 10 Years

16 August, 2022 / Read time: 2 minutes

To commemorate its first decade of science operations, the ALMA partnership is organizing a conference that will look back at the observatory accomplishments, highlight its latest results and look forward to future technical developments. The "ALMA at 10 years: Past, Present, and Future" Conference will be held in Puerto Varas, southern Chile, from December 4 to 8, 2023. It will include a series of talks and activities to foster the community to continue doing research with this revolutionary tool in the coming years.

"We are excited to host this conference after all the outstanding achievements of the observatory in the last decade," explains ALMA Observatory Scientist John Carpenter. "With over 2,800 refereed publications and counting, and an ambitious development roadmap for the coming years that will ultimately quadruple the system bandwidth. This event will be an opportunity to view the latest results with ALMA and to get a glimpse of what is coming in the future".

The conference will allow for remote participation and will include invited talks, contributed talks, and poster presentations. Talks and posters are welcome in all fields of astronomy: from cosmology and galaxies in the distant Universe to nearby galaxies and the Galactic Center, interstellar medium, and star formation in our galaxy, as well as astrochemistry, circumstellar disks, exoplanets, Solar System, stellar evolution, and the Sun.

Location, Venue, and Dates

The conference will be held in Puerto Varas, Chile, from December 4 to 8, 2023.

Registration for the conference will open in early 2023.

Additional Information

ALMA is a partnership of ESO (representing its member states), NSF (USA) and NINS (Japan), together with NRC (Canada), MOST and ASIAA (Taiwan), and KASI (Republic of Korea), in cooperation with the Republic of Chile. The Joint ALMA Observatory is operated by ESO, AUI/NRAO and NAOJ.